Unveiled
Lectio Divina with Unveiled
The Kingdom is Like... pt. 2
0:00
-9:48

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Unveiled

The Kingdom is Like... pt. 2

Mustard Seeds and Nesting Trees

We can know something in our head, without truly knowing it in our bodies. I think this is true in many things in life, but especially in the things of the Kingdom of Heaven.

I made the decision to follow Christ at 14 years old. After more than a year of studying the Bible consistently, I could have easily told you that Jesus refers more than once to a mustard seed as a nod to the value of what’s small.

But, even now having followed him for 16 years, I still struggle with the living of this kingdom-reality.

The truth is, we are inundated with encouragement to seek and trust that which is grand, glamorous, and established. In an effort to empower young people, we are a society full of cliche’s with a common message—big is the goal, and there’s nothing stopping you from achieving it.

The Spirit has been stirring me this week with this verse as laundry has piled, children have needed much attention, guidance, and love, and meals need cooking—all while my heart is stirring with dreams, ideas, lofty thoughts, and the like. One feels like it’s brimming with kingdom reality, the other feels like a distraction. This parable challenges me to switch the categories I’d assign to each one.

The power of meditative practices like Lectio Divina is in our ability to slow down, come aware, and let kingdom truth sink deeper into our bodies than just mental assent. Rather than simply agreeing with scripture, we can come to imagine ourselves living in it, and be empowered by the Spirit to put it on.

I hope you’ll join me today, and I’d love for you to share how the scripture moved in your heart today if you’re willing.

Weekly Lectio Divina are a journey I’m walking on with paid subscribers to Unveiled. If you would like to meditate on God’s presence with us in scripture each week, I invite you to join me!

If not, though, you can look forward to the first Lectio of each month being available for all. The first episode is available to all!

Listen in here!

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Unveiled to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Unveiled
Lectio Divina with Unveiled
A weekly guided Lectio Divina to center our hearts on God's presence with us through scripture.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Leslie Konhaeuser